Counties consist of counties and county equivalents, such as the parishes of Louisiana, the boroughs and Census Areas of Alaska, the District of Columbia, and the independent cities of Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Virginia. The estimates for Kalawao County, Hawaii and the small independent cities of Virginia-- generally those with fewer than 100,000 residents-- are combined with estimates for adjacent counties.